Time Out

I’ve given the blog a bit of a face lift.  I thought it was time.

It’s the second day of September and I’ve taken some time off from my day job.  Taking advantage of the Labor Day holiday on Monday gives me a nice stretch of time out of the office.  I have no travel plans.  I will go out to Shinnecock for the PowWow this weekend – an absolute must for me.  That helps me reset, almost like a New Year’s celebration.

I intend to work on some manuscripts while the house is quiet.  My husband is at work and the dog naps all day long.  The story I began last month seems to be getting some traction with me so I’m going to keep following that path.  I’ve worked on a couple of revisions for other manuscripts so I am feeling more productive than last month.

I’ve received rejections for the items I submitted last month.   Disappointed of course, but it is all part of the process.  Onward!

This is usually the time of year that I like to head to the Highlights Foundation in Pennsylvania for a conference.  I decided to take a break for this year and focus on getting ready to attend the SCBWI Winter conference in NYC in February.

2017 seems so far away, but it is just around the corner.  In October my Christmas Club account will be released.  I’ll be getting firewood in and securing the patio furniture for the winter.  Then rearranging the living room for the Christmas tree.  WAIT!  I can’t think of that yet.

I’ve never attended an International SCBWI Conference and I’m getting very excited. Pulling together my most polished work and researching past conferences is where I am so far.  My expectation is to get into the atmosphere and soak it all in.

Now that I’ve taken time out from my manuscripts for this post, I’ll sign off for lunch. Then I’ll head out for some errands and settle back in at my desk for the remainder of the day.

 

One thought on “Time Out

Leave a Reply

